Catherine Edelman
PCA Class of 1985, BFA, Photography
Photographer, Gallery Owner
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 2018.
Catherine opened Catherine Edelman Gallery in Chicago in 1987 as a venue for contemporary fine art photography. Since its founding, it's become one of the leading galleries in the Midwest devoted to the exhibition of prominent living photographers, alongside new and young talent.
Debuting with the Ballad of Sexual Dependency by Nan Goldin, her gallery has shown everything from street photography (Susan Meiselas, Sebastiao Salgado, James Nachtwey) to fashion photography (Annie Leibovitz, Herb Ritts, Matthew Rolston) to traditional landscape images (Michael Kenna, Lynn Gessaman) to socially-conscious work (Richard Misrach, Jeffrey Wolin, Terry Evans, Allen Ginsberg) to images created as a springboard for story-telling (Joel-Peter Witkin, Elizabeth Ernst, Dan Estabrook).
Edelman is widely respected as a leader, educator and specialist in the field of contemporary photography.
- UArts Commencement Program, 2018.
Image Source: University of the Arts
Parke Emerson Edwards
PMSIA Class of 1915, Diploma, Normal art Instruction
Metalworker
Certificate A, Industrial Drawing, 1912.
Emily Leland Harrison Prize of $10.00 for work in wrought iron, 1912.
Certificate in Constructive Design and Modeling (Normal), 1913.
John J. Boyle Prize of $10.00 for general excellence in modeling [sculpture], 1913.
Emily Leland Harrison Prize of $10.00 for work in wrought iron, 1913.
Received scholarship for advanced study in Italy, 1913.
Normal Certificate, Surface Design and Color, 1914.
Honorable mention, Herbert D. Allman Prize for best design in wallpaper, 1914.
Emily Leland Harrison Prize of $10.00 for work in wrought iron, 1914.
Caroline Axford Magee Prize of $10.00 for Tiles, 1914.
Parke Emerson Edwards was born in Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Before enrolling at the Pennsylvania Museum School of Industrial Arts, Edwards took classes by correspondence. At PMSIA, Edwards received a scholarship to study in Europe under Samuel Yellin. Edwards' education was interrupted when he was drafted into the Army Signal Corps in World War I, where he designed anatomy diagrams and aviation maintenance documents. When he returned to PMSIA after the war, Edwards received his diploma and created the metalwork shop and taught at the school. Edwards is best known for the metalwork he designed for various churches, residences and museums in the surrounding regions of Philadelphia.
Above: Wrought iron candlesticks designed and executed by Parke Emerson Edwards while a student
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
Philip Eitzen (1928-2016)
PMSA Class of 1952, Diploma, Advertising Design
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1982.
Philip Eitzen was born in Abington, Pennsylvania. After serving in the Army, Eitzen studied at the Philadelphia Museum School of Art. Upon graduating he worked for the advertising agency N.W. Ayer & Son, Inc. In 1971 he formed The Creative Department, Inc. in Philadelphia, his own advertising agency. Eitzen was a founder of the American Institute of Graphic Arts, Philadelphia chapter; a member of the PCA Board of Trustees, and president of the PCA Alumni Board.
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
Teneise Mitchell Ellis
UArts Class of 2005, BFA, Jazz Dance
Stella Moore Prize for Four-Year Achievement, 2005.
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 2019.
Teneise Mitchell Ellis was born in Chesapeake, Virginia. After graduating from the University of the Arts, Ellis has danced with artists and companies such as Philadanco, Camille A. Brown, and Beyoncé as well as for shows including Saturday Night Live, Radio City Rockettes and Wicked the Musical.
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
Wesley Emmons
PMSA Class of 1954, BFA, Jewelry and Silversmithing
Silversmith, Jeweler
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1986.
As a young man, Wesley Emmons was greatly influenced by Japanese arts and culture during the three years he spent in Japan in the U.S. Army following World War II. When he returned to the U.S. he attended the University of the Arts, then known as the Philadelphia Museum School of Art. He graduated with a BFA in Jewelry and Silversmithing. After a three-year apprenticeship he set up his shop and showroom with his wife Ellen just a few blocks away from Broad and Pine and has been there ever since. While working to establish his own business he taught jewelry and silversmithing at the Philadelphia College of Art in the Continuing Studies Program. Emmons established a reputation for outstanding craftsmanship and design in fine jewelry, religious artwork, and award design. Recipients of awards designed by Emmons include: Martin Luther King Jr., who received a pectoral cross; George Jessel, who received the City of Hope Humanities Award; J. Robert Oppenheimer; and Mstislav Rostopovich who received the Curtis Institute of Music Award, a recent commission. Emmons is respected not only in artistic circles, but also in the Philadelphia civic and business communities. His workshop and retail showroom have been Center City fixtures for 50 years.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
Wharton Esherick (1887-1970)
PMSIA Class of 1908
Woodworker, Printmaker
Emma S. Crozer Prize for best work in drawing, fourth honorable mention, 1908.
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1957.
Wharton Harris Esherick was born and raised in Philadelphia. He studied drawing and printmaking at the Museum School for the Industrial Arts and received a scholarship to study painting at the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts. However, he made his mark in the art world with wood sculpture, applying the principles of modernism to functional objects to create furniture, furnishings and buildings that bridged the gap between art and craft. Esherick was the living link between the Arts and Crafts movement of the late 19th century and the craft revival of the 1950s. He was dubbed the "dean of American craftsmen" by the later generation of craftsmen who followed in his footsteps. His work has been widely exhibited both during his lifetime and posthumously. His pieces are in many permanent collections including the Philadelphia Museum of Art, The Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, the Metropolitan Museum in New York, the Renwick Gallery of the Smithsonian, and the Museum of Fine Art in Boston. His greatest work of art is his hand-crafted home and studio, now the Warton Esherick Museum, a National Historic Landmark for Architecture located just west of Valley Forge, Pennsylvania.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Above: Music Stand, 1962
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
Robin Eubanks
PCPA Class of 1978, BM, Trombone
Trombonist
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 2017.
Robin Eubanks was born in Philadelphia to a famous musical family which includes his brothers, guitarist Kevin and trumpeter Duane Eubanks, uncles pianist Ray and bassist Tommy Bryant, and his mother Vera Eubanks, a music educator. After graduating from the Philadelphia College of the Performing Arts, Eubanks moved to New York City where he played trombone with artists such as Sun Ra, Art Blakey, Stevie Wonder, Talking Heads, B.B. King, Barbra Streisand, and many others. Additionally, Eubanks was a tenured Professor of Jazz Trombone and Jazz Composition at The Oberlin College Conservatory and has taught at Berklee College of Music and New England Conservatory.
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
Walter Hunt Everett (1880-1946)
Attended PMSIA, 1899-1900
Artist, Illustrator
Mrs. George K. Crozer Prize for Drawing, $20.00, 1899.
Walter Hunt Everett was born in Haddonfield, New Jersey. He studied at the Philadelphia Museum School of Industrial Art for a short time before studying at the Drexel Institute of Art and the Brandywine School under the tutelage of Howard Pyle. Everett and other members of the Brandywine School, such as N.C. Wyeth, went on to create some of the most famous and iconic illustrations for The Saturday Evening Post as well as other serials, posters and books. In 1911, Everett returned to the PMSIA to help found the illustration department and educate many more young artists.
Image Source: walterheverett.com
David Ewing
PCA Class of 1968, BFA, Film
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 2020.
David Ewing is a film and television editor and producer. He has worked for programs such as the Today Show, Nightly News, PBS, National Geographic, NBC Dateline as well as CNN, ABC News and CBS News.
Eugene Feldman (1921-1975)
PMSIA Class of 1942, Advertising Design
Printmaker
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1974.
Eugene Feldman was born in Woodbine, New Jersey and attended the Philadelphia Museum School of Industrial Art. He founded the Falcon Press printing company in 1948, and was appointed Director of Typography at the Philadelphia Museum School of Art in 1956. He published several books, including Doorway to Portuguese and Doorway to Brasilia with Aloisio Magalhaes, The World of Kafka and Cuevas, designed by Louis Glessman, and The Notebooks and Drawings of Louis I. Kahn, with Richard Saul Wurman. In 1962, Feldman was appointed Associate Professor of Graphic Arts at the University of Pennsylvania's Graduate School of Fine Arts. He was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship for Research in Photo Offest Lithography in 1966; he received commissions from the Philadelphia Board of Education and the Haas Community fund, and he designed two books for the Philadelphia Museum of Art: Spotbook, A Portfolio of Animal Prints and Multiples, the First Decade.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: Artist's Website
Ruth Fine
PMCA Class of 1962, BFA, General Arts
Painter and Printmaker
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1994.
Smithsonian Institution Archives of American Art Lawrence A. Fleischman Award for Scholarly Excellence in the Field of American Art History, 2023.
Ruth Fine was born in Philadelphia, and received her BFA from the Philadelphia College of Art and MFA from the University of Pennsylvania. She has taught drawing, printmaking, and design at PCA, Arcadia University, and the University of Vermont. Since 1972, Fine has served as a curator for the National Gallery of Art; she was with the Lessing J. Rosenwald Collection in Jenkintown until 1980, and subsequently at the National Gallery in Washington. She has organized many prominent exhibitions and contemporary print workshops, has written numerous essays and articles and recently coordinated a national gifts program with art collectors Dorothy and Herbert Vogel. Fine is also a painter/printmaker whose work is in the permanent collections of the Victoria and Albert Museum Library in London, the Museum of the Book, the Hague, and the National Library of Canada, as well as Columbia University, Bryn Mawr College, Dartmouth College, the Boston Public Library, and IBM Corporation.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
Kate Flannery
UArts Class of 1987, BFA, Acting
Actor
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 2013.
UArts Unleashed Alumni Award for Excellence in the Arts, 2024.
Kate Flannery was born in Philadelphia. After graduating from the University of the Arts, Flannery worked in stage comedy with The Second City and other companies as well as performing solo and collaborative shows. She began working in film and television and was cast as Meredith Palmer in the hit NBC show The Office in 2005, a role for which she won two Screen Actors Guild Awards. Flannery has continued to act in a large number of films and television shows including Steven Universe, OK K.O.! Let's Be Heroes and Young Sheldon among others.
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
Maurice Freed (1911-1981)
PMSIA Class of 1933, Diploma
Painter, Illustrator, Art Director
Elizabeth B. Roberts Prize, First-Year Work, Drawing from Costumed Model, 1930.
Elizabeth B. Roberts Prize, First-Year Work, Museum Research, 1930.
Second-Year Student Life Drawing award, 1931.
Third-Year Student Illustration award, 1932.
Cape Cod Summer School Painting award, 1932.
Third-Year Student Pen and Ink award, 1932.
Third-Year Student Still-Life Painting award, 1932.
Maurice Freed was born in Pottsville, Pennsylvania. After graduating from the Philadelphia Museum and School of Industrial Art, Freed studied at the Cape School of Art before traveling to Atlantic City, NJ and Paris, France to paint. In 1934, Freed became the director of Esquire magazine. Freed worked for Esquire as well as contributing to other magazines such as New Yorker, Saturday Evening Post and Fortune, before returning to France to devote himself to painting and fine art. Freed continued to travel around the world to paint while also teaching drawing and painting and serving as president of the Philadelphia Chapter of Artists Equity Association.
Image Source: Artist's Website
Allan R. Freelon (1895-1960)
PMSIA Class of 1916, Diploma, Normal Art Instruction
Artist, Educator, Civil Rights Activist
Certificate A in Industrial Drawing, 1913.
Certificate in Surface Design and Color (Normal), 1914.
Associate Committee of Women's Prize ($10.00) for original design in Mosaic, 1914.
Certificate in Constructive Design and Modelling (Normal), 1915.
Honorable Mention, John Harrison Prize for work in furniture, 1915.
Mrs. Joseph F. Sinnott Prize ($10.00) for the best executed piece of Garden Pottery in cement, 1915.
Allan Randall Freelon was born in Philadelphia. He received a four-year scholarship to the Pennsylvania Museum and School of Industrial Art where he began his studies in art education. After his graduation in 1916 he attended the Philadelphia School of Pedagogy before entering the army from 1917 until 1919. He then returned to Philadelphia where he taught in the Philadelphia public school system and became the first African American to be appointed to the school district's Department of Superintendence as Assistant Director of Art Education in 1921. Freelon received his Bachelor of Science degree in education from the University of Pennsylvania in 1924. Freelon was most known for his painting and as a part of the Harlem Renaissance. His artwork was part of the first exhibitions of African American art in Harlem in 1921 and his paintings and sketches were exhibited throughout the United States.
Image Source: Wikipedia.org
Peter Freudenberg (1943-2023)
PCA Class of 1967, BFA, Painting
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 2019.
Peter Freudenberg attended Clemson University and then the Philadelphia College of Arts where he graduated in 1967 with a BFA in painting. He then served in Vietnam where he was awarded the Bronze Star. After being discharged, Freudenberg founded Pine Street Studio, where he became most known for his designs for water tanks, most notably the "Peachoid" in Gaffney, South Carolina and the "Earthoid" in Germantown, Maryland.
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
Rudolf Freund (1915-1969)
PMSIA Class of 1936, Diploma, Industrial Art
Illustrator
Fourth-Year Student Prize for Pictorial Expression for Exceptional Work, 1936.
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1966.
Rudolf Freund graduated from the Philadelphia Museum School of Industrial Art in 1936 (his father, Rudolf, Sr., also attended PMSIA). He was a prolific wildlife artist whose meticulously detailed illustrations appeared in many books and magazines. Beginning with LIFE magazine in the 1940's, he was noted for his studies of insects and his recreations of extinct animal species. Many volumes of the LIFE Nature Library contain his illustrations, and he illustrated numerous nature books and guides including Butterflies and Moths: A Study of the Largest and Most Beautiful of the Insects, Wonders of the Sea, and A Guide to Familiar American Wildflowers. He was a member of the Sketch Club in Philadelphia and the Art Students' League in New York, and he worked as a preparatory at the American Museum of Natural History.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
Meta Vaux Warrick Fuller (1877-1968)
PMSIA Class of 1898, Diploma and Teaching Certificate
Painter, Poet, Sculptor, Theater Designer
Honorable Mention, Mrs. George K. Crozer Prize, for the best work in modelling (sculpture), 1898.
Mrs. George K. Crozer Prize ($20.00) for the best work in modelling (sculpture), 1899.
First Prize, Mr. H. H. Battles Prize ($25.00) for a jardiniere, 1904.
Meta Vaux Warrick Fuller was born in Philadelphia in 1877. She attended Girls' High School, where one of her art projects was selected to be shown at the World's Columbian Exposition in Chicago in 1893. As a result of this recognition she won a four-year scholarship to PMSIA. After graduation, she traveled to Paris where she was mentored by Henry Ossawa Tanner, became lifelong friends with W. E. B. DuBois, and became the protege of Auguste Rodin. Rodin was impressed with Warrick's sculpting ability as was the rest of France, where she had many exhibitions of her work. Warrick returned to Philadelphia in 1903 where she was the first African American woman to receive a commission from the United States government, to create a series of tableaux for the 1907 Jamestown Tercentennial Exposition. Warrick's sculptural work focused on themes of the African American experience, racism, feminism, horror and African heritage and identity. In addition to her sculptures, Warrick was also a prolific theater designer, director, and actress.
Image Source: Wikipedia.org
Joe Fyfe
PCA Class of 1976, BFA, Painting
Painter
Joe Fyfe was born in New York City in 1952. After graduating from the Philadelphia College of Art in 1976, Fyfe returned to New York City where he continued painting and exhibiting his work in both Philadelphia and NYC as well as around the world. In addition to painting, Fyfe teaches at Pratt Institute and writes for various art publications such as Art in America, Artnet, and Bomb magazine.
Margaret Garwood (1927-2015)
PMA Class of 1975, MM, Composition
Composer
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 2001.
Margaret Garwood is a 1975 graduate of the Philadelphia College of Performing Arts, where she earned her Masters Degree in Music Composition. Ms. Garwood had studied privately at the Philadelphia Conservatory and in New York, which enabled her to "pass off" all of the requirements of the entire undergraduate program by exam when she applied for the Masters Program. Only two students in the history of the Philadelphia College of Performing Arts have accomplished that feat.
Ms. Garwood served on the faculty of the Philadelphia Musical Academy from the early 1950's to the late 1960's and became head of the piano faculty in 1978, teaching piano, chamber music and opera.
Ms. Garwood has written works for various chamber ensembles. Her song cycles have been widely performed in the United States, Canada and Europe. Her opera for youth, Joringel and the Songflower, commissioned by the Camerata Opera Theater, was recently performed at the Chautauqua Institute in New York. Other operas include Rappaccini's Daughter, The Nightingale and the Rose and The Trojan Women. Her song cycles include The Cliff's Edge (Songs of a Psychotic); Lovesongs: Five songs to poems of E. E. Cummings; Springsongs: Five Songs to poems of E. E. Cummings, and Six Japanese Songs for voice, clarinet and piano. Her most recent works are Tombsongs and Rainsongs, both commissioned and premiered by the Choral Arts Society of Philadelphia. She is writing a third work in this trilogy called Flowersongs, which was commissioned by the Music Group of Philadelphia. Instrumental works include a Suite (for two pianos), A Joyous Lament for a Gilly Flower (for clarinet and piano), Soliloquy (for alto saxophone and piano), and Homages: a suite in four movements (for piano, violin and cello).
Ms. Garwood has been the recipient of three grants from the National Endowment for the Arts; five fellowships from the MacDowell Colony, during the last of which she was named a Norton Stevens Fellow; and awards from American Society of Composers Authors and Publishes, the American Music Center, and the National Federation of Music Clubs. She has served on the Composer-Librettist's and Solo Recitalist's Panel for the National Endowment for the Arts, and on the selection panels for Opera America and Chorus America.
Image Source: The Philadelphia Inquirer
Marguerite Gaudin (1909-1991)
PMSIA Class of 1930, Diploma, Advertising Design
First Prize for Advertising Design, Fourth-Year Work, 1930.
Second Prize for Drawing from Life, 1930.
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1960.
Marguerite Gaudin graduated from the Pennsylvania Museum School of Industrial Art. She began her career doing freelance commissions for the Curtis Publishing Company, including a monthly cartoon for Jack and Jill magazine called Finney the Office Goldfish. In 1931, she joined the WIllet Stained Glass Studios and, after ten years, became the principal designer. During her 60 years designing for Willet Studios she created windows for hundreds of churches and secular buildings, located in all 50 states and five foreign countries. Among her notable design achievements were the last six windows executed in the Cathedral of St. John the Divine in New York City; façade windows for the St. Anselm's Meguro Church in Tokyo, Japan; and one of the largest faceted glass installations in the world, the 30,000 square feet of glass for the Museum of Science, a permanent building constructed for the 1962-63 New York World's Fair. Gaudin was also a highly skilled calligrapher, who designed hundreds of illuminated commemorative scrolls and widely-exhibited watercolors.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: Grace Episcopal Cathedral, San Francisco, 1964. From Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Jackson Grace Gay
UArts Class of 1999, BFA, Theater
Theater Director
The THEAS-Theater Ensemble Award, 1999.
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 2008.
Jackson Gay is an award-winning theater director who graduated from the University of the Arts in 1999 with a BFA in Acting. She received her MFA in Directing from the Yale School of Drama.
Among her directing credits are Tennessee Williams' Glass Menagerie at the Guggenheim Museum as part of the Works & Process series; Lucy Thurber's Scarcity at the Atlantic Theater Company, where she previously directed Kia Corthron's Master Disaster and Rolin Jones' The Intelligent Design of Jenny Chow, which was selected as a 2006 Pulitzer Prize finalist.
Ms. Gay's guest directing and teaching credits include The Juilliard School, Yale University, The Guthrie Theater, Dartmouth College, Stern College for Women, Denver Center's National Theater Conservatory, Mount Holyoke College and New York University. She is the recipient of the Voice and Vision Envision Fellowship, the Jonathan Alper Directing Fellowship at Manhattan Theatre Club, the Williamstown Theater Festival Directing Fellowship and the Drama League's New Directors/New Works Fellowship.
Image Source: Artist's website
Sonia Gechtoff (1926-2018)
PMSA Class of 1950, BFA, Education
Abstract Expressionist Painter
Sonia Gechtoff was born in Philadelphia in 1926. An artist from a young age, Gechtoff attended the Philadelphia Museum School of Art and graduated in 1950 with a BFA. After her graduation, Gechtoff moved to San Francisco where she began working alongside many other prominent abstract expressionist artists of the Beat Generation. She married Jim Kelly in 1953 and attained national recognition when her work was shown in the Guggenheim Museum's Younger American Painters show alongside artists such as Pollock and de Kooning. Gechtoff moved to New York City in 1958 where her work was exhibited in many galleries while she continued to paint as well as teach at various universities.
Image Source: ARTnews
Virginia Mason Gifford (1907-2003)
PMSIA Class of 1930, Advertising Design
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1963.
Virginia Mason Gifford was born in Connecticut and relocated to Philadelphia in 1917. She was a graduate of the Philadelphia Museum School of Industrial Art. Gifford was a member of the Board of Governors of the Philadelphia College of Art and served on the Alumni Board of Directors. She received the Alumni Medal of Merit in 1966. Her illustrations were published in Jack and Jill and Nature magazines and in The Evil Eye, authored by her husband, Edward S. Gifford, Jr., M.D. Her artwork also adorned the book jacket of Think Fink, a book of poetry by Newbold Dunn. Her prints were purchased by the Library of Congress and she had solo exhibitions at the Philadelphia Art Alliance and Fleischer Art Memorial. Her work was also shown at the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, the Philadelphia Museum of Art, Boston Museum of Fine Arts and the Riverside Museum of New York.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
Bernard Glassman (1923-1998)
PMSIA Class of 1947, Diploma, Advertising Design
Advertising Design Award, 1947.
First Honorable Mention, The Philadelphia Art Directors' Club Award, 1947.
Third Honorable Mention, W. H. Hoedt Studio Award, 1947.
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1965.
Joseph Kramer (1922-2004), Theodore Miller (1922-1995), Morris Lomden (1923-1985), and Bernard Glassman (1923-1998) attended the Philadelphia Museum School of Art in the early 1940s, before the United States' involvement in WWII. All four served in the U.S. Army; Lomden and Glassman remained in Europe under the GI Bill to study painting after the war. Returning to Philadelphia, they continued their studies at the Museum School (Kramer graduated in 1947 and Miller graduated in 1943, both with diplomas in Advertising; Lomden and Glassman received diplomas in Advertising from the Continuing Studies program in 1947) and began freelancing as graphic designers in the late 1940s.
In 1953, the four men incorporated KramerMillerLomdenGlassman, which rapidly grew to become the largest and most recognized graphic design firm in the Delaware Valley. During the forty years of their partnership, the workd of KMLG appeared in articles in Print, Communication Arts, and Graphis. Their designs and films won many awards, including gold medals from the Philadelphia and New York Art Directors' clubs, the American Institute of Graphic Arts, Neographics, and a Cine Golden Eagle.
Specializing in a variety of disciplines, the partners produced annual and corporate reports, logo and alphabet design, corporate identity, US postage stamps, collateral print and advertising design, signage, packaging, and promotional films. Their holiday cards were legendary in the Philadelphia advertising and marketing community for their humor and creativity.
All four men had an avocation for the fine arts, and continued to paint, carve, sculpt, and make independent films their entire lives.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Albert Gold (1916-2006)
PMSIA Class of 1938, Diploma, Illustration
Painter
Award for Outstanding Work in Illustration and Decoration, Fourth Year, 1938.
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1978.
Albert Gold was born in Philadelphia, and graduated from the Philadelphia Museum School of Industrial Art. His lithograph, Market Workers, was exhibited at the 1939 World's Fair in New York. In 1942, Gold was awarded the coveted Prix de Rome, given annually by the American Academy in Rome, and the Decorated Order of the British Empire. He was drafted into the army and became one of three official combat artists in Europe. During the war, hundreds of his paintings were hung at the Pentagon, in museums in Paris and London, and at the Smithsonian Institution. After his discharge, he began his 37-year long teaching career at his alma mater, retiring in 1982 as head of the Illustration Department and Professor Emeritus. He received numerous awards and grants throughout his career, and his works are in the permanent collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, the Library of Congress, the National Gallery in London, and the Musee Galliera in Paris, among others.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
Sidney Goodman (1936-2013)
PMSA, Class of 1958, Illustration
Painter
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1971.
Faculty Member, 1960-78.
Sidney Goodman was born in 1936 in Philadelphia, and attended the Philadelphia College of Art from 1954 to 1958. He has received numerous awards and fellowships, including the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship, The Fellowship of the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, Percy M. Owens Memorial for a Distinguished Pennsylvania Artist, and NEA Fellowship, and an Award in the Visual Arts from the Southeastern Center for Contemporary Art in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. Goodman received an Honorary Degree in 1996 from the Art Institute of Boston and was elected to the National Academy of Design in 1998. He also received an Honorary Doctor of Fine Arts degree from the Lyme Academy College of Art in 2007. He has had solo exhibitions in many institutions, including the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts, and the Columbus Museum, among others. His work is in the permanent collections of numerous prominent museums including the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York, the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York, The Museum of Modern Art and The National Portrait Gallery.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
Joseph Hirsch (1910-1981)
PMSIA Class of 1931, Diploma
Painter, Printmaker
Second Prize for costumed model, 1930.
First prize for drawing from life, memory sketches, 1930.
Second prize for illustration, third year work, 1930.
Prize for illustration, fourth year student work, 1931.
Alumni award, 1958.
Joseph Hirsch was born in Philadelphia in 1910. After graduating from the Pennsylvania Museum and School of Industrial Art he moved to New York City, where he studied with George Luks who in turn introduced him to the Social Realism movement. After traveling to Europe, Hirsch returned to Philadelphia where he worked for the Works Project Administration and created murals for various buildings around the city. In 1942, Hirsch created the most popular poster in support of buying War Bonds for World War II and later worked as an artist and war correspondent in Florida, the South Pacific, North Africa and Italy.
After the end of the war, Hirsch continued painting Social Realist works relating to the struggles faced by African Americans and soldiers returning home. In this time period he also worked as a commercial artist and portrait painter in addition to teaching at several art schools throughout the country. In 1949, Hirsch was one of the founding members of Artists Equity, for which he was later blacklisted and denounced as a Communist sympathizer. As a result, the Hirsch family moved to Paris until 1955.
Image Source: Wikipedia.org
Cynthia Iliff Koehler
PMSIA Class of 1930, Diploma
Artist, Illustrator, Author
First Prize for Third-Year Work in Design, 1929.
Class of 1928 Prize for Highest Rating in the Senior Class, 1930.
First Prize for Fourth-Year Design and for Museum Research, 1930.
Annie E. Sinnott Memorial Fund European Travelling Scholarship, 1931.
Johnny Irizarry
PCA Class of 1983, BFA, Painting
Artist, Community Arts Activist
The Faculty Award, Painting and Drawing, 1983.
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1999.
Since graduating from the Philadelphia College of Art with a BFA Degree in painting, Johnny Irizarry has been building cultural and educational institutions directed toward advancing Latino culture in Philadelphia. He has worked with students ranging from the very young in Head Start through college age, and has served as chief administrative officer of a bilingual charter school, program specialist for the School District of Philadelphia, executive director/CEO of The Lighthouse (a North Philadelphian settlement house), and executive director of a Latino arts and cultural community center, Taller Puertorriqueño, where many of his programs used the arts as an agent for social change, justice, and community development. Among Irizarry's many awards and honors are the Paul Robeson Social Justice Award and an honorary doctorate from Swarthmore College. Irizarry currently serves as director of La Casa Latina, the Center for Hispanic Excellence at the University of Pennsylvania.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: Penn Arts & Sciences Center for Latin American and Latinx Studies
James P. Jamieson (1867-1941)
Attended PMSIA 1889-1891
Architect
James P. Jamieson was born in Falkirck, Scotland in 1867. He moved to Philadelphia in 1884 and began working with his brother at the architecture firm of R.G. Kennedy. In 1889 he began working for the firm of Cope & Stewardson and taking classes at the Pennsylvania Museum and School of Industrial Art. Jamieson became of full member of Cope & Stewardson and headed a project for Washington University's campus.
Judith Jamison
1964, Dance, attended PDA college program at PMA
Dancer, Choreographer
1986, UArts Honorary Degree of Doctor of Fine Arts
1999, Emmy Winner, Outstanding Choreography
1999, Kennedy Center Honoree
2001, National Medal of Arts
2009, TIME 100: The World's Most Influential People
2010, Honored by First Lady Michelle Obama at the first White House Dance Series event
Judith Jamison was born in Philadelphia in 1943. She began dancing at age six and studied various styles and techniques before attending the Philadelphia Dance Academy, where she studied with Nadia Chilkovsky and took classes in Labanotation and kinesiology along with her dance studies. In 1964, Agnes de Mille invited Jamison to perform for a work she was choreographing for American Ballet Theatre. After the run of performances, Jamison was asked by Alvin Ailey to join his dance company. Jamison toured the world with the Alvin Ailey Dance Theater until her departure in 1980, after which she performed on Broadway, taught master classes, and began choreographing her own works. In 1988, Jamison once again joined the Alvin Ailey Dance Theater as an artistic associate and became artistic director in 1989 after the death of Ailey.
Image Source: Getty Images, ⓒ WireImage
Philip Jamison (1925-2021)
PMSA Class of 1950, Diploma, Illustration
Painter
Elizabeth B. Roberts Award for Excellence in Second-Year Painting, 1949.
Philip Jamison was born in Philadelphia in 1925. He was drafted into the Navy during World War II, after which he returned to Philadelphia and attended the Philadelphia Museum School of Industrial Art. After graduating, Jamison became well known for his watercolor paintings of landscapes and flowers which have been exhibited in galleries including the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Boston Museum of Fine Arts, and the National Air and Space Museum.
Image Source: The Philadelphia Inquirer
Renee Jaworski
UArts Class of 1994, BFA, Modern Dance
Dancer
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 2010.
Renée Jaworski '94 (Modern Dance) is the rehearsal director and artistic associate for Pilobolus Dance Theater. After receiving her BFA from the University of the Arts, she connected with Moses Pendleton, founder of the MOMIX and Pilobolus dance companies, performing and teaching throughout the world with MOMIX. In 1997, she took a brief hiatus to give birth to her daughter. Returning to her career, she created and performed her own work in Philadelphia while working for Group Motion and touring part time with MOMIX. 1998 brought Renée to NYC where she began working with Carolyn Dorfman. She has been working with Pilobolus since 2000, performing, creating, teaching, directing, associating and, most recently, coordinating residencies for the Pilobolus Institute.
- UArts Commencement Program, 2010
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
John Jesurun
PCA Class of 1972, BFA, Sculpture
Writer, Director
John Jesurun was born in 1951 in Battle Creek, MI. After receiving his BFA from the Philadelphia College of Art, Jesurun continued to study sculpture and receive an MFA from Yale University in 1974. After graduating, Jesurun worked for CBS and then for the Dick Cavett Show. His most well-known work is the live serial play Chang in a Void Moon, that has been running since 1982. Jesurun's has directed more than 25 other pieces that have been shown worldwide, and has taught at various universities.
Image Source: Foundation for Contemporary Arts
Daniel Joseph
UArts Class of 2006, BS, Industrial Design
Disney Imagineer
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 2017.
Before Daniel Joseph graduated from The University of the Arts he began working towards his life-long dream of working for the Walt Disney Company. In his senior year Joseph won Disney's annual ImagiNations Design Competition with a design for the defunct Disneyland attraction "The People Mover". After graduation he moved to Los Angeles and began working for companies that worked with Disney before attaining an internship at Walt Disney Imagineering, which eventually led to a job in their Special Effects and Illusions department. Since then, thirteen of his designs have been patented and he has been recognized for his work throughout the industry.
Image Source: University of the Arts
Edward Kalehoff
PMA Class of 1969, BM, Composition
Composer
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1997.
When you hear the theme of "Monday Night Football" or "American Journal," when you hum a riff from "NFL Films" or "West 57th Street," when you can't forget jingles from McDonalds, Kodak, or Pepsi, you're experiencing the work of Edd Kalehoff, a 1968 graduate of the Philadelphia Musical Academy. The Academy was a forerunner of the Philadelphia College of Performing Arts, now a part of The University of the Arts.
Kalehoff has also been a pioneer in the development of electronically-assisted music. As he notes in a recent issue of Mix magazine, "There's a real irony to the position I find myself in these days. When I came to Manhattan 25 years ago, I was the fair-haired boy who had a Moog synthesizer, which was all the rage. There were only a few Moogs in town at the time, and I might have been the only person who was on the session scene who could actually play the thing." Today, in a world full of would-be creators of digital music, Kalehoff remains a pioneer because of the creativity he brings to the work. "When a producer calls me, it's generally because they want me to contribute something that is personally mine to a project ... Regardless of whether you're working on the client's time or your own, you always want to put your name on the best-sounding product possible. This is an adventure, not a career!"
Image Source: Artist's website
Jerome E. Kaplan (1920-1997)
PMSIA Class of 1947, Diploma
Lithographer
Henry Pepper Leland Fund Award for black and white mediums, lithography, 1947.
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1964.
Jerome Kaplan grew up in Ardmore, Pennsylvania. He graduated from the Philadelphia Museum School of Industrial Arts. Kaplan began teaching lithography the fall after graduating and intaglio in 1955, and was appointed Professor and Chair of the Printmaking Department in 1965. He taught until he retired as Professor Emeritus in 1987. He was granted a Guggenheim Fellowship in 1961 and the Tamarind Fellowship in 1962; he received the Philadelphia College of Art Alumni Award in 1964 and was selected as one of the Outstanding Educators of America in 1972. Kaplan had 21 solo exhibitions between 1950 and 1994 when a retrospective exhibition of his work was held at The Print Club in Philadelphia. His work is represented in permanent collections in this country and abroad including the Art Institute of Chicago; Cleveland Museum of Art; Museum of Fine Art, Boston, Yale University of Art Gallery; The Museum of Modern Art; the National Gallery of Art; the Philadelphia Museum of Art; Whitney Museum of American Art; the British Museum; and the Victoria and Albert Museum.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
Paul F. Keene, Jr. (1920-2009)
Attended PMSIA from 1939-1941
Painter
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1972.
Faculty member, 1964-1968.
Paul Keene was born in 1920 in Philadelphia, and enlisted in the army in 1941. He graduated from the Philadelphia Museum School of Art in 1942 and received an MFA from Temple University Tyler School of Fine Arts. He also studied at the Academie Julian in Paris, where he became a part of Gallery 8, and exhibited with Picasso and Leger at the Salon de Mai. He received Whitney Fellowships in 1952 and 1954, which allowed him to direct courses ant the Centre D'Art in Port-au-Prince, Haiti. Keene taught at the Philadelphia College of Art from 1964-1968, and at Bucks County Community College from 1968 to 1985, where he helped to establish a new art department. He retired from teaching in 1985. His work is in many permanent collections, including the African American Museum in Philadelphia, the British Museum, the Nigerian National Museum, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. A solo exhibition is planned for 2010 in the Woodmere Museum of Art.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
Ric Kidney
PCA Class of 1975, BFA, Film
Film Producer and Director
Silver Star Alumni Award, 2003.
Richard "Ric" Kidney has worked in the motion picture industry for more than 30 years since his graduation from the Philadelphia College of Art with a BFA degree in Photography and Film. In 1981 he was accepted into the Directors Guild of America and has had a prolific career in the industry. He is also a member of the Screen Actors Guild. Kidney has produced many notable and award-winning films, including: Other People's Money (1991); Six Degrees of Separation (1993); Legally Blonde (2001); Life or Something Like It (2002); Four Brothers (2005); Shooter (2007); Imagine That (2009) and Salt (to be released in summer 2010). Kidney received the Silver Star Alumni Award in 2003.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
Elle King
UArts Class of 2012, BFA, Multidisciplinary Fine Arts
Singer, Songwriter, Actress
Elle King was born in 1989 in Los Angeles, CA. King began playing guitar and banjo in her teen years. After graduating from high school in New York City, King studied painting and film at University of the Arts. Upon completion of her degree, King released her first EP in 2012 and then toured or performed with artists such as Dashboard Confessional, Train, and Ed Sheeran. King released her debut album, Love Stuff, in 2015. The lead single from the album, "Ex's & Oh's", reached number 10 on the Billboard Hot 100 and received two Grammy nominations for Best Rock Performance and Best Rock Song.
Image Source: Red Light Management via The San Diego Union-Tribune
Joseph Kramer (1922-2004)
PMSIA Class of 1947, Advertising Design
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1965.
Joseph Kramer (1922-2004), Theodore Miller (1922-1995), Morris Lomden (1923-1985), and Bernard Glassman (1923-1998) attended the Philadelphia Museum School of Art in the early 1940s, before the United States' involvement in WWII. All four served in the U.S. Army; Lomden and Glassman remained in Europe under the GI Bill to study painting after the war. Returning to Philadelphia, they continued their studies at the Museum School (Kramer graduated in 1947 and Miller graduated in 1943, both with diplomas in Advertising; Lomden and Glassman received diplomas in Advertising from the Continuing Studies program in 1947) and began freelancing as graphic designers in the late 1940s.
In 1953, the four men incorporated KramerMillerLomdenGlassman, which rapidly grew to become the largest and most recognized graphic design firm in the Delaware Valley. During the forty years of their partnership, the workd of KMLG appeared in articles in Print, Communication Arts, and Graphis. Their designs and films won many awards, including gold medals from the Philadelphia and New York Art Directors' clubs, the American Institute of Graphic Arts, Neographics, and a Cine Golden Eagle.
Specializing in a variety of disciplines, the partners produced annual and corporate reports, logo and alphabet design, corporate identity, US postage stamps, collateral print and advertising design, signage, packaging, and promotional films. Their holiday cards were legendary in the Philadelphia advertising and marketing community for their humor and creativity.
All four men had an avocation for the fine arts, and continued to paint, carve, sculpt, and make independent films their entire lives.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
George Krause
PMSA Class of 1958, Advertising Design
Photographer
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1970.
George Krause was born in Philadelphia in 1937 and attended the Philadelphia College of Art on a scholarship. He received the first Prix de Rome and the first Fullbright-Hayes Fellowship ever awarded to a photographer, as well as two Guggenheim Fellowships and three grants from National Endowment for the Arts. In 1993 he was the first photographer selected Texas Artist of the Year. Krause's photographs are found in the world's major museum collections, including the Museum of Modern Art in New York, the Houston Museum of Fine Arts, the Library of Congress, the Philadelphia Museum of Art and the Bibliotheque Nationale in Paris. In 1999 he retired from the University of Houston, where in 1975 he founded the photography program. He now lives in Wimberley, Texas with his partner Elizabeth White and their two dogs and five cats.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: Artist's website
William G. Krebs
PCA Class of 1966, Interior Design
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1988.
William Krebs grew up in Princeton Junction, New Jersey before moving to Philadelphia to attend the Philadelphia College of Art. He attended Cornell University Graduate School and spent one of his two years of military service in the Corps of Engineers in Vietnam. In 1971, he joined Interspace Incorporated as a designer; he acquired the Philadelphia Office of Interspace in 1990 and led the firm until 2000. He was Managing Principal of Cathers & Associates, and architectural, interior design and landscape design firm in Malvern, Pennsylvania until February 2009, when he became Principal of MGZA Architecture. He is currently involved in a variety of project types ranging from historic restoration and adaptive reuse, to corporate interior design and workplace consulting. In 2008, after more than 20 years of service, he retired from the Board of Trustees of the University of the Arts. He and his wife, Jeanne, have spent several years designing their current home that they had constructed in Chester County, Pennsylvania.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: Atrium TRW Headquarters Building. From Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Joseph Krush (1918-2022)
PMSIA Class of 1939, Diploma, Illustration
Illustrator
Award for Outstanding Work in Illustration and Decoration, Second-Year Students, 1937.
Award for Distinguished Work in Drawing, Second-Year Students, 1937.
Award for Work in Water Color, 1937.
Award for Outstanding Work in Illustration and Decoration, Third-Year Students, 1938.
Award for Work in Water Color, 1938.
Scholarship Award to the New York World's Fair, 1939.
Henry Perry Leland Award for Graphics and Pen and Ink Drawing, 1939.
Thornton Oakley Gold Medal Award, 1939.
Joseph Krush was born in Camden, NJ in 1918. He met his wife Beth on the first day of class at the Philadelphia Museum School of Art and married soon after graduation. During World War II, Krush worked as a graphic designer for the Office of Strategic Services and as a courtroom sketch artist during the Nuremberg Trials. After the war, Krush returned to Wayne, Pennsylvania, where he and his wife worked together illustrating books for Harcourt, Brace. They are most well-known for illustrating the five Borrowers books by Mary Norton.
Image Source: Michael Bryant, The Philadelphia Inquirer
Elaine Kurtz (1928-2003)
PMSA Class of 1950, Diploma, Advertising Design
Painter
UArts Silver Star Alumni Award, 1977.
Elaine Kurtz was born in Philadelphia, and graduated from the Philadelphia College of Art. In the years following graduation, she earned her living as a free-lance illustrator. Twice the Philadelphia Art Directors Club awarded her their gold medal and three times Certificates of Merit for illustration. For four years she taught drawing at her alma mater. In 1966, Kurtz and her family moved to Washington, D.C. where she became a full-time working painter. Her first of five solo exhibitions came in 1970 at the Philadelphia Art Alliance and she won her first painting award the same year in the Annual Painting Show of the Cheltenham Art Center. Since 1970, her paintings and prints have been shown in more than 50 group exhibitions throughout the United States and Europe, and are house in numerous collections, including the Philadelphia Museum of Art Painting and Print Collections.
- Silver Star Alumni Award Exhibition
Image Source: University of the Arts Digital Collections
